Project Description

Crop Damage Detection

Project scope

Traditional scouting methods were always used by corn farmers in determining the extend of crop damages in case of extreme weather events. These kinds of methods are tedious and difficult to ascertain the extent of the damage. ArcGIS, Machine Learning and drone mapping provides a faster, efficient and accurate way to evaluate these damages.

The objectives of this project include: Examining the cornfield and identifying damaged corn areas, estimating the area of the unused cornfield and approximating the average corn height and plant density.

Data Sets

The geodata of the cornfield of approximately 9.43 hectare was acquired using a drone. The data obtained was in form of point cloud and images. The data is registered similarly to a basemap with WGS 1984 Web Mercator projection reference system and vertical units in meter, hence creating a georeferenced integrated spatial dataset.

Challenges & solutions

The acquired geodata were comprised of multiple 4-band images and point cloud – LAS (with same geographic relation) datasets. The images were then mosaiced to form an orthomosaic raster image. Prior to the data analysis, radiometric corrections were done to correct for the measured brightness value of pixels, band to band error, and geometric and panoramic distortions that occurred during the acquisition process.

To enable for photointerpretation, the orthomosaic raster image was processed. To allow for identification of different features on the digital image, an image classification algorithm was done. Both the supervised and unsupervised classification were performed on the orthomosaic image , hence identifying damaged corn areas and estimating the unused areas on the field. Using a fully trained algorithm, the individual pixels of the orthomosaic were classified with respect to their spectral properties.

The LAS dataset was used to generate geospatial products from the raster image e.g. extraction of the Digital Elevation Model (DEM) and Digital Surface Model (DSM). These are variables needed for band arithmetic in deriving corn heights. These are variables needed for band arithmetic in deriving corn heights. For estimation of corn growth stage, precision and accuracy in photointerpretation of the cornfield, an estimation of the NDVI (Normalized Difference Vegetation Index) was also done on the raster images.

Project outcome

An approximate of 5.51% of the 9.43 hectares of the cornfield area was identified as bare soils, while around 0.69% was detected to be the part of the cornfield where the corn was damaged. At the time the data was obtained, the corn was at its reproductive growth stage.

Also an average corn height of 2.1 meters was derived. The average plant density was estimated at 29,600 plants per hectare. It could also be deduced that the maize was in the reproductive growth phase at the time of uptake.

Category

GEO AI
Computational Lifescience
Spatial temporal Analysis
Computer Vision

Technologies

Image segmentation
Support Vector Classifier

Download

Social Sharing

Other Use Cases in this category

All Use Cases at a Glance

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Supper & Supper GmbH - The Data Engineers
Data Science
Use Cases
Feldschaden-Erkennung

Laden Sie hier unseren Anwendungsfall zur Erkennung von Feldschäden herunter.

Projektziel

Traditionelle Methoden zur Auswertung von Feldschäden wurden immer von Bauern eingesetzt, um beispielsweise Schadensausmaße nach extremen Wetterereignissen zu bewerten. Da die Ergebnisse auf Schätzungen beruhen, sind sie jedoch ungenau. Durch Mapping von Drohnenbildern, ArcGIS und Machine Learning kann eine schnellere, und wesentlich genauere Auswertung der Schäden erfolgen.
 
Die Ziele dieses Projektes beinhalten: die Bewertung eines Maisfeldes, durch die Identifizierung beschädigter Maisflächen. Außerdem sollen ungenutzte Feldabschnitte, die durchschnittliche Höhe und die Dichte der Pflanzen ermittelt werden.

Datensätze

Die Geodaten des Maisfeldes von ca. 9,43 Hektar wurden mit einer Drohne erfasst. Die gewonnenen Daten lagen in Form einer Punktwolke und Rohbildern vor. Die Daten werden auf einer Basemap mit dem Projektionsbezugssystem „WGS 1984 Web Mercator“ und vertikalen Einheiten in Metern verarbeitet, wodurch ein georeferenzierter integrierter räumlicher Datensatz entsteht.

Herausforderungen & Lösungen

Die erfassten Geodaten bestehen aus 4-Band-Bildern und LAS-Punktwolken. Die Bilder wurden zu einem Orthomosaik-Rasterbild zusammengefügt. Vor der Datenanalyse wurden radiometrische Korrekturen durchgeführt, um den gemessenen Helligkeitswert von Pixeln, Band-zu-Band-Fehler sowie geometrische und panoramische Verzerrungen, die während des Erfassungsprozesses aufgetreten sind, zu korrigieren.
 
Um eine Auswertung zu ermöglichen, wurde das Orthomosaik weiterverarbeitet. Für die Identifizierung verschiedener Merkmale des digitalen Bildes, wurde ein Klassifizierungs-Algorithmus entwickelt. Sowohl die überwachte als auch die unüberwachte Klassifizierung wurden am Orthomosaik angewandt. Dabei wurden sowohl beschädigte, als auch ungenutzte Flächen auf dem Feld identifiziert. Mit einem fertig trainierten Algorithmus wurden die einzelnen Pixel des Orthomosaiks in Bezug auf ihre spektralen Eigenschaften klassifiziert.
 
Der LAS-Datensatz wurde verwendet, um aus dem Rasterbild raumbezogene Datensätze zu erzeugen, wie beispielsweise das Digital Elevation Model (DEM) und das Digital Surface Model (DSM). Diese sind notwendig für die Ableitung der Pflanzenhöhe Zur Beurteilung des Maiswachstumstadiums, einer präzisen Photointerpretation des Maisfeldes wurde auch eine Schätzung des NDVI (Normalized Difference Vegetation Index) auf den Rasterbildern vorgenommen.

Projektergebnis

Mit der Verwendung des Algorithmus zur Bildklassifizierung stellte sich heraus, dass ca. 5,51 % des 9,43 ha großen Maisfeldes unbenutzt sind. Des Weiteren wurden 0,69 % des Feldes als beschädigt klassifiziert.
Außerdem konnte eine durchschnittliche Pflanzenhöhe von 2,1 m ermittelt werden. Die durchschnittliche Dichte betrug ca. 29.600 Pflanzen pro Hektar. Es konnte ebenso abgeleitet werden, dass sich der Mais zum Zeitpunkt der Aufnahme in der reproduktiven Wachstumsphase befand.