Supper & Supper GmbH - The Data Engineers
Data Science
Use Cases
Anomaly Detection on Sensor Data of a Deep Learning Development Server Cluster

Project scope

Project goal was to detect anomalies of sensor data of a deep learning development server cluster. The cluster consists of high scaled GPU servers and is utilized to process high volumes of data to train machine learning models and neural networks. These kind of processes run normally for several hours. This makes them a bottleneck resource. To gain more information about the general occupancy of the cluster and to get notifications when big training processes are kicked off, a monitoring and anomaly detection solution was needed. Like this automated alerts for major deviation from normal behaviors should be reported to the person in charge via e-mail.

Data sets

For each server 58 features are recorded every second and stored in a CSV file separated by server. The sensors register several data types for the different hardware components. Differing from capacity, temperature, clock speeds and power consumption they cover all important aspects to evaluate the current workloads and occupancy rates.

Challenges & Solutions

The machine learning model needs to recognize and incorporate trends and notice unexpected trend changes or peaks - that means: the model needs to adjust itself over time. The chosen analytics tool is the highly scalable Elastic Stack. With the Logstash module a real-time pipeline was build up, to directly store the most current data from the log files in an Elasticsearch cluster. Kibana was set up as the interface, which is part of the X-Pack extension.
 
A direct network access for the log file directories was configured. The most current sensor data is ready to be analyzed with less than a second of delay.
 
The Machine Learning Module was configured to monitor several critical sensors and inference trends in the data. It analyzes temperature, clock speeds and capacities for CPU, GPU, RAM and storage components. For exceptional events on server clusters, e-mail alerts for different severity thresholds were configured.

Project outcome

A real-time monitoring tool with a self learning anomaly detection model was implemented. It is configured to automatically send e-mails, for certain severity thresholds of several hardware components. Like this the utilization of the deep learning server cluster can be managed more effectively.

Project Description

Anomalie-Erkennung an Sensordaten eines Deep Learning-Entwicklungsserver-Clusters

Projektziel

Der Kern des Projektes ist es Anomalien im Verhalten eines Deep Learning Development Server Clusters anhand von Sensordaten zu identifizieren. Der Cluster besteht aus High-End GPU Servern, die dazu benutzt werden große Datenmengen im Rahmen von Deep Learning Projekten zu prozessieren. Durch lange Berechnungsdauern ist der Cluster eine Engpassressource. Um die Ausnutzung des Clusters besser planen zu können und Benachrichtigungen beim Start von großen Batch-Prozessen zu erhalten, war ein geeignetes Monitoring-System, mit integrierter Erkennung von Anomalien notwendig. So können Abweichung vom normalen Verhalten des Clusters erkannt und automatisierte E-Mail Benachrichtigungen versandt werden.

Datensätze

F√ľr jeden Server werden sek√ľndlich 58 Datenpunkte verschiedenster Sensoren aufgezeichnet und jeweils in eine CSV-Datei gespeichert. Die Sensoren erfassen verschiedene Leistungskennzahlen der Hardwarekomponenten. Mit der Speicherauslastung, Temperaturen, Taktfrequenzen und dem Energieverbrauch werden alle wichtigen Aspekte zum Clusterzustand und Auslastungen abgedeckt.

Herausforderungen und Lösungen

Das Machine Learning-Modell muss Trends und Saisonalit√§ten ber√ľcksichtigen und unerwartete Trendver√§nderungen oder Ausrei√üer erkennen. Der Algorithmus muss also in der Lage sein den Trend eigenst√§ndig zu erkennen und sich dahingehend anzupassen.

Wegen seiner Skalierbarkeit wurde der Elastic-Stack als Analyseumgebung gewählt. Mit dem Logstash-Modul können Datenströme in Echtzeit direkt in den Elasticsearch-Cluster geladen werden. Die eigentliche Analyse findet im Machine Learning Modul, in der Erweiterung X-Pack von Kibana statt.
Um die Log-Daten direkt verf√ľgbar zu machen, wurde eine direkte Netzwerkfreigabe zu den entsprechenden Dateipfaden konfiguriert. Die aktuellsten Sensordaten sind somit in weniger als einer Sekunde Verz√∂gerung bereit zur Analyse.

Das Machine Learning-Modul wurde so konfiguriert, dass es mehrere kritische Sensoren gleichzeitig analysiert und die √Ąnderungen der Trends automatisch erkennt und √ľbernimmt. Analysiert werden Temperaturen, Taktfrequenzen sowie Auslastung von CPU, GPU, RAM und Speicherkomponenten. E-Mail Benachrichtigungen f√ľr unerwartete Events wurden ebenfalls eingerichtet.

Projektergebnis

Ein Echtzeit-Monitoring Tool mit einem selbstlernenden Modell zur Erkennung von Anomalien wurde implementiert. Es wurde so konfiguriert, dass es bei unerwarteten Ereignissen automatisch E-Mail Alerts versendet. So kann die Nutzung des Deep Learning Server Clusters optimiert werden.

Kategorie

Mechanical Engineering
Predictive Maintenance

Technologien

Elastic Stack
Anomaly detection
Reinforcement Learning

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im √úberblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO