Supper & Supper GmbH - The Data Engineers
Data Science
Use Cases
Deep Learning on 3D Point Clouds

Project scope

3D point clouds are an enabling technology in the digitalization of many industries. Unlocking the information-richness of 3D point clouds requires additional analysis. This use case presents a scalable approach that applies neural networks to 3D point clouds to generate an instance segmentation of large scenic point clouds.

Provided Data

For this use case we worked with photogrammetric point clouds generated by our drone flight partner FairFleet. The point clouds we analyzed were scans from urban and semi-urban environments, often containing construction sites. Each scan had up to ten million points. 

Challenges

Most applications so far are limited to classifying single point clouds, for example 3D scans of individual objects. In order to properly make use of point clouds in for example construction and planning, it is necessary to segment large scenic scans with tens of millions of points.

Applied Methods

To segment large scenic 3D point clouds, we used a combination of unsupervised clustering and supervised neural network training.

Project outcome

We were able achieve accuracy scores of up to 93% for individual object classes, depending on the available labeled examples. The output of our network constitutes a so called “instance segmentation” of the input point cloud. That means it is not only possible to assign a label to each 3D point (“segmentation”), one can also isolate individual instances of each label class. This additional step enables further analyses such as automatically counting and locating individual objects of a certain type.
 
Our technology can turn point cloud data into valuable information, enabling you to successfully implement your digitalization strategy.
 
Potential applications include urban infrastructure inventories, solar suitability analyses, construction site monitoring and 3D model generation.
 
Our 3D AI solutions can be adapted to your custom requirements and can be integrated into end-to-end solutions that feed results back into geodatabases, map layers, and AutoCAD models.

Project Description

Anwendung von Deep Learning auf 3D Punktewolken

Projektziel

3D-Punktwolken sind eine Schlüsseltechnologie bei der Digitalisierung vieler Branchen. Die Erschließung der Informationsdichte von 3D-Punktwolken erfordert zusätzliche Analysen. Dieser Use Case stellt einen skalierbaren Ansatz dar, der neuronale Netze auf 3D-Punktwolken anwendet, um eine Instanz-Segmentierung von großen szenischen Punktwolken zu erzeugen.

Genutzte Daten

Für diesen Anwendungsfall haben wir mit photogrammetrischen Punktwolken gearbeitet, die von unserem Drohnenflugpartner FairFleet erzeugt wurden. Die von uns analysierten Punktwolken waren Scans aus städtischen und semi-urbanen Umgebungen, die oft Baustellen enthielten. Jeder Scan hatte bis zu zehn Millionen Punkte.

Herausforderungen

Die meisten Anwendungen beschränken sich bisher auf die Klassifizierung von Einzelpunktwolken, z.B. 3D-Scans einzelner Objekte. Um Punktwolken z.B. in der Konstruktion und Planung effektiv zu nutzen, ist es notwendig, große Szenenscans mit Dutzenden von Millionen von Punkten zu segmentieren.

Angewandte Methoden

Um große szenische 3D-Punktwolken zu segmentieren, verwendeten wir eine Kombination aus unsupervised Clustering und supervised Neural Network Training.

Projektergebnis

Abhängig von den verfügbaren gelabelten Beispielen konnten wir für einzelne Objektklassen Genauigkeitswerte von bis zu 93% erreichen. Der Output unseres Netzwerks stellt eine so genannte “Instanz-Segmentierung” der Input-Point Cloud dar. Das heißt, es ist nicht nur möglich, jedem 3D-Punkt ein Label zuzuordnen (“Segmentierung”), sondern man kann auch einzelne Instanzen jeder Label-Klasse isolieren. Dieser zusätzliche Schritt ermöglicht weitere Analysen, wie z.B. das automatische Zählen und Lokalisieren einzelner Objekte eines bestimmten Typs.

Unsere Technologie kann Punktwolkendaten in wertvolle Informationen verwandeln, so dass Sie Ihre Digitalisierungsstrategie erfolgreich umsetzen können.

Mögliche Anwendungen sind unter anderem Bestandsaufnahmen der städtischen Infrastruktur, solare Eignungsanalysen, Baustellenüberwachung und 3D-Modellerstellung.

Unsere 3D-KI-Lösungen können an Ihre individuellen Anforderungen angepasst und in End-to-End-Lösungen integriert werden, die die Ergebnisse in Geodatenbanken, Kartenlayer und AutoCAD-Modelle zurückführen.

Kategorie

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Deep Learning Object Detection
Spatial temporal Analysis
Computer Vision
3D Point Clouds

Technologien

Deep Learning

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im Überblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO