Project Description

Crowd Control – Use of artificial intelligence to track personal densities in near real time

Project scope

With the increasing degree of urbanization, more and more people are concentrated in cities. Especially community events, such as sport events, concerts, festivals and conferences, lead to thousands of people located at a limited amount of space. The tracking of the number of people plays a significant role for the security and management of cities and facilities. The tracking of the number of people plays a significant role for the security and management of cities and facilities.

The aim of this project was to develop an artificial intelligence, that allows for a quick and accurate estimation of the number of people in diverse imagery. This tool can be used to conduct real-time tracking of people counts and distributions in crowded places.

Provided Data

The image data, that was used for training the artificial intelligence, consists of 1,198 images depicting crowds of people. In total 330,165 people were present in those images and their head was annotated as training labels.

Challenges

The main challenges in the crowd counting task are the many variations of appearance, perspective, illumination, crowd density and distribution. In terms of performance (speed and accuracy) traditional AI solutions for detecting objects in images suffer a lot when it comes to the detection of too many objects per image.

Applied Methods

To approach the problem of varying crowd densities and distributions and the high number of objects per image, a density-based approach is considered. In effect, the prediction target of the AI is the density of people on a per-pixel basis. For this purpose a neural network architecture, called CSRNet, was implemented.

Project outcome

The developed tool is able to accurately estimate the number of people in large crowds shown in images. This can be used to do near real-time monitoring of crowds.

The concept of crowd count and density estimation and the derived tool can be extended to the use in a variety of applications. One example is the counting and the estimation of plant density of crops and vegetation in general, where large amount of planting / growing areas need to be monitored. The chemical and biological area has many potential applications, such as the counting and density estimation of cells or bacteria.

Category

GEO AI
Computational Lifescience
Deep Learning Object Detection
Computer Vision

Technologies

Deep Learning

Download

Social Sharing

Other Use Cases in this category

All Use Cases at a Glance

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Project Description

Crowd Control – Einsatz künstlicher Intelligenz zur Verfolgung von Personendichten in nahezu Echtzeit

Projektziel

Mit zunehmendem Urbanisierungsgrad konzentrieren sich immer mehr Menschen in den Städten. Vor allem Community-Veranstaltungen wie Sportveranstaltungen, Konzerte, Festivals und Konferenzen führen dazu, dass sich Tausende von Menschen auf engstem Raum befinden. Die Verfolgung der Personendichte spielt eine wichtige Rolle für die Sicherheit und das Management von Städten und Einrichtungen.

Ziel dieses Projektes war es, eine künstliche Intelligenz zu entwickeln, die eine schnelle und genaue Schätzung der Anzahl der Personen in verschiedenen Bildern ermöglicht. Dieses Tool kann verwendet werden, um in Echtzeit die Anzahl der Personen und deren Verteilung an überfüllten Orten zu verfolgen.

Genutzte Daten

Die Bilddaten, die für das Training der künstlichen Intelligenz verwendet wurden, bestehen aus 1.198 Bildern, die Menschenmassen darstellen. Insgesamt 330.165 Menschen waren auf diesen Bildern anwesend und ihr Kopf wurde als Trainingslabel markiert.

Herausforderungen

Die größten Herausforderungen bei der Crowd-Counting-Aufgabe sind die vielen Variationen von Aussehen, Perspektive, Beleuchtung, Crowd-Dichte und Verteilung. In Bezug auf die Leistung (Geschwindigkeit und Genauigkeit) leiden traditionelle KI-Lösungen zur Erkennung von Objekten in Bildern sehr stark, wenn es um die Erkennung von zu vielen Objekten pro Bild geht.

Angewandte Methoden

Um das Problem der unterschiedlichen Massendichten und -verteilungen und der hohen Anzahl von Objekten pro Bild anzugehen, wurde ein dichtebasierter Ansatz in Betracht gezogen. Die KI zur Erkennung von Dichte von Menschen arbeitet auf Pro-Pixel-Basis. Zu diesem Zweck wurde eine neuronale Netzwerkarchitektur, genannt CSRNet, implementiert.

Projektergebnis

Das entwickelte Tool ist in der Lage, die Anzahl der Personen in großen Menschenmengen, die in Bildern dargestellt werden, genau zu schätzen. Dies kann verwendet werden, um eine nahezu zeitnahe Überwachung von Menschenmassen zu ermöglichen.

Das Konzept der Mengenzählung und Dichteabschätzung kann auf eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen erweitert werden. Ein Beispiel ist die Zählung und Schätzung der Pflanzdichte von Nutzpflanzen und Vegetation im Allgemeinen, wenn große Mengen an Pflanz- und Anbauflächen überwacht werden müssen. Der chemische und biologische Bereich hat ebenfalls viele Anwendungsmöglichkeiten, wie z.B. die Zählung und Dichteabschätzung von Zellen oder Bakterien.

Kategorie

GEO AI
Computational Lifescience
Deep Learning Object Detection
Computer Vision

Technologien

Deep Learning

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im Überblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO