Project Description

Spatio-Temporal Analysis of CO2 Emissions

Project scope

Monitoring and reporting of CO2 emissions has a decisive impact on the negotiations of global climate change. However, the current system refers to non-standardized national reports based only on industry specific statistics. This results in non-verifiable estimates of national CO2 emissions. The project goal was therefore to identify alternative methods to make global CO2 emissions quantifiable and objectively verifiable.

Data Sets

The core dataset included measurements of surface CO2 concentrations obtained from Japan’s Greenhouse Gases Observing Satellite (GOSAT) comprising the majority of the landmass of Europe and Asia. As supporting datasets NASA satellite measurements of vegetation indices, population density, carbon monoxide and nitrogen dioxide were used.

Challenges & solutions

The first challenge addresses the complexity of the data as high dimensionality in space and time quickly leads to bottlenecks in computational resources. This was solved with approximation approaches that analyzed the trade-off between predictive performance and computational demands.

The second task deals with providing a model framework for the CO2 concentrations, that allows for a space-time prediction of the sparse dataset and uses this correlation structure within the data. Spatial modelling captured the space-time dynamics.

The major challenge was to identify the CO2 sources and sinks as well as to find out how much CO2 has been emitted and how much variation in the surface CO2 concentrations relates to terrestrial vegetation or is caused by the population. The complete carbon cycle was integrated in the model framework including seasonally varying vegetation.

In the end, it was possible to quantify CO2 emissions caused by mankind.

Project outcome

An alternative to the existing approach of monitoring and reporting CO2 emissions was developed. It is capable of efficiently mapping the CO2 concentration process globally and the whole terrestrial CO2 cycle based on objective satellite measurements of CO2 emissions. A comparative study showed that the model results were largely consistent with the reported emissions (UNFCCC) within European countries, but differed widely for countries such as China and North Korea. This indicates an error (intentional or not) in the currently implemented reporting system.

Category

GEO AI
Spatial temporal Analysis

Technologies

Spatio-temporal statistics

Download

Social Sharing

Other Use Cases in this category

All Use Cases at a Glance

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Projekt Beschreibung

Raum-Zeit-Analyse von CO2-Emissionen

Projektziel

Im Rahmen der Verhandlungen zum globalen Klimawandel spielt das Monitoring und Reporting der CO2-Emissionen eine entscheidende Rolle. Das aktuelle System bezieht sich jedoch auf nichtstandardisierte und nur auf Industriestatistiken basierende, nationale Berichte. Dies hat nicht validierbare Schätzungen der nationalen CO2-Emissionen zur Folge. Ziel dieses Projekts war es daher, alternative Methoden zu identifizieren, die globale CO2-Emissionen quantifizierbar und objektiv validierbar machen.

Datensätze

Der verwendete Hauptdatensatz beinhaltet die Messungen der CO2-Oberfl√§chenkonzentrationen, die durch den Greenhouse Gases Observing Satellite (GOSAT) gewonnen wurden, und umfasst die √ľberwiegende Landmasse von Europa und Asien. Als zus√§tzliche Datens√§tze dienten NASA-Satelliten-Messungen der Vegetationsindizes, Bev√∂lkerungsdichte, Kohlenstoffmonoxid und Stickstoffdioxid.

Herausforderungen und Lösungen

Die erste Herausforderung adressiert die hohe Dimensionalit√§t in Raum und Zeit, die schnell zu Engp√§ssen in der Rechenleistung f√ľhrt. Dies wurde mit Ans√§tzen zur Approximation gel√∂st, die den Trade-Off zwischen Vorhersageleistung und Rechenanforderung analysieren.

Die zweite Aufgabe war die Erstellung eines Modell-Frameworks f√ľr die CO2-Konzentrationen, das eine Raum-Zeit-Vorhersage mit sehr niedriger Datendichte erlaubt und diese Korrelationsstruktur innerhalb der Daten verwendet. Mittels statistischer Modellierung wurden so die Raum-Zeit-Dynamiken erfasst.

Die Hauptherausforderung war die Ableitung der CO2-Quellen und -Senken und die Bestimmung, wieviel CO2 durch Menschen ausgestoßen wurde und wie hoch die Abweichung in der CO2-Oberflächenkonzentration aufgrund der Vegetation ist. Der gesamte Kohlenstoffzyklus inklusive der saisonal variierenden Vegetation wurde in das Modell integriert.

Letztlich war es möglich, die menschlich verursachten CO2-Emissionen zu quantifizieren.

Projektergebnis

Es wurde ein alternativer Ansatz zum bestehenden Monitoring- und Reporting-System der CO2-Emissionen vorgeschlagen. Dieser ist in der Lage, den CO2-Konzentrationsprozess effizient global abzubilden und den gesamten terrestrischen Kohlenstoffzyklus und die auf objektiven Satellitenmessungen basierenden CO2-Emissionen zu erfassen. Eine Vergleichsstudie zeigte, dass die Modellergebnisse gr√∂√ütenteils mit den gemeldeten Emissionen (UNFCCC) der europ√§ischen Staaten √ľbereinstimmten, aber f√ľr L√§nder wie China und Korea stark abwichen. Das deutet auf einen (absichtlichen oder nicht) Fehler des entsprechenden Reporting-Systems hin.

Kategorie

GEO AI
Spatial temporal Analysis

Technologien

Spatio-temporal statistics

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im √úberblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO