Supper & Supper GmbH - The Data Engineers
Data Science
Use Cases
Failure prediction in innovative vehicle projects - how bio statistical approaches can be transferred to automotive Projects

Project scope

The development and the first market launch of very innovative vehicles with new technologies involves challenges, especially for the development of a quality management framework. There is no historic information and the pro-cess cannot be based on past experiences. For the quality management it is important to identify potential damage types and their drivers or patterns. For newly developed cars there is no previous field information where patterns of car configurations and error patterns lead to specific car failures.
&nbsp
Objective: to develop an algorithm, that is able to identify clusters of error patterns and car configurations, that lead to certain car failures.

Data sets

Each sample of the data consisted of information on the configuration of the individual car, data from the production process, the normalized log of the error messages from different control modules, text mined data from customer problem descriptions, repair reports and the current run-time of the car.

Challenges & Solutions

Most of the provided features were nominal data with categories of labels, which consisted of car records taken at different time points of their life cycle and many data points were censored. Additionally, there were couple of error source which might have biased the precision.
 
We implemented a feature engineering approach, which accounts for the different stages of the life cycle. The error event variables were re-engineered, so that they relate the relevance of a certain error event for an individual car with the corresponding relevance of the error event for all cars. The provided features were projected into the numerical space by applying Multiple Correspondence Analysis. The best algorithm was the DBSCAN, which was selected through the silhouette coefficient.

Project Outcome

The developed dynamic algorithm can be used to identify clusters of common damage patterns, that were spread across different car configurations. Cars in different stages of their life cycle can now be incorporated in the clustering.

Supper & Supper GmbH - The Data Engineers
Data Science
Use Cases
Fehlerprognose bei innovativen Fahrzeugprojekten - Wie biostatistische Ansätze auf Automotive-Projekte übertragen werden können

Projektziel

Die Entwicklung und Markteinführung innovativer Fahrzeuge, mit neuen Technologien, stellt eine besondere Heraus-forderung für das Qualitätsmanagement dar. Es gibt keine historischen Informationen und der Prozess kann nicht auf vergangenen Erfahrungen basieren. Für das Qualitätsmanagement ist es wichtig, potenzielle Schadenstypen und deren Faktoren oder Muster zu identifizieren. Für neu entwickelte Fahrzeuge gibt es keine früheren Informationen, bei denen Muster von Fahrzeugkonfigurationen und Fehlermustern zu spezifischen Fahrzeugausfällen führen.
&nbsp
Ziel dieses Projektes war es, einen Algorithmus zu entwickeln, der in der Lage ist, Cluster von Fehlermustern und Fahrzeugkonfigurationen zu identifizieren, welche zu bestimmten Fahrzeugausfällen führen.

Datensätze

Jeder Datenpunkt bestand aus Informationen über die Konfiguration des Fahrzeugs, Daten aus dem Produktionsprozess, dem normierten Protokoll der Fehlermeldungen aus verschiedenen Steuermo-dulen, aufbereiteten Daten vom Kunden, Problembeschreibungen, Reparaturberichten und der aktu-ellen Laufzeit des Fahrzeugs.

Herausforderungen & Lösungen

Die meisten der bereitgestellten Features nominale Daten mit verschiedenen Kategorien. Viele der bereitgestellten Daten aus den Fahrzeugen wurden zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten des Lebenszyklus aufgenommen. Zusätzlich gab es mehrere Fehlerquellen, die die Genauigkeit des Algorithmus beein-trächtigt haben könnten.
 
Wir haben einen Feature-Engineering-Ansatz implementiert, der die verschiedenen Phasen des Le-benszyklus berücksichtigt. Die Fehlerereignisvariablen wurden überarbeitet, so dass sie die Relevanz eines bestimmten Fehlerereignisses für ein einzelnes Fahrzeug mit der entsprechenden Relevanz des Fehlerereignisses für alle Fahrzeuge in Beziehung gesetzt wurde. Die überarbeiteten und projizierten Features wurden dann für die Clustering-Algorithmen verwendet. Der beste Algorithmus war der DBSCAN, der durch den Silhouetten Koeffizienten ausgewählt wurde.

Projektergebnis

Der entwickelte Algorithmus kann zur Identifizierung von Schadensmustern verwendet werden, welche über verschiedene Fahrzeugkonfigurationen verteilt waren.
Fahrzeuge in verschiedenen Phasen ihres Lebenszyklus können nun in das Clustering einbezo-gen werden.