Project Description

Image-based Segmentation of Concrete Cracks

Project scope

This use case demonstrates a deep learning based tool that can automatically detect concrete cracks on pixel level. With the help of such pixel-wise classification (segmentation) cracks can analyzed regarding width and heights and compared over time.

Data Sets

We made use of a dataset of 458 high-resolution RGB pictures showing different concrete cracks.

Challenges & Solutions

Training a neural network requires a large amount of training data. For different applications the structures that need to be analyzed can differ greatly.

Applied Methods

To further increase the performance of our model we made use of different augmentation techniques that can simulate various lighting conditions and structural variances. We applied the Deep Lab v3 neural network architecture, the current state-of-the-art in image segmentation. The model and training pipeline were implemented with PyTorch.

Model performance was evaluated based on the dice coefficient as well as true positive rate (TPR). The former indicates how well the predicted crack pixels align with the ground truth. TPR measures how many crack pixels were accurately detected by the model.

The final model achieved a dice coefficient of 88% and a TPR of 97% on the validation set. This performance is suitable for automated crack detection applications.

Predictions where then denoised using morphological opening. Stitching the tiles back together we could analyze the entire pictures regarding number of cracks as well as crack length and width.

Project outcome

The tool is capable of accurately detecting surface cracks on pixel level. Crack width and length can thus be automatically monitored. For applications where images are consistently taken from the same locations, this allows analyzing changes in cracks and early detection of new cracks.

Category

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Predictive Maintenance
Deep Learning Object Detection
Spatial temporal Analysis
Computer Vision

Technologies

Deep Learning

Download

Social Sharing

Other Use Cases in this category

All Use Cases at a Glance

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Project Description

Segmentierung von Betonrissen auf Bildern

Projektziel

Dieser Anwendungsfall demonstriert ein Deep Learning Werkzeug, das automatisch Betonrisse auf Pixelebene erkennen kann.

Verwendetes Dataset

Wir haben einen Datensatz von 458 hochauflösenden RGB-Bildern mit verschiedenen Betonrissen verwendet.

Herausforderungen

Das Training eines neuronalen Netzwerks erfordert eine große Menge an Trainingsdaten. Für verschiedene Anwendungen können die zu analysierenden Strukturen sehr unterschiedlich sein.

Angewandte Methoden

Um die Leistung unseres Modells zu steigern, haben wir verschiedene Augmentationstechniken eingesetzt, die verschiedene Lichtverhältnisse und strukturelle Abweichungen simulieren können. Wir haben die neuronale Netzwerkarchitektur von Deep Lab v3 angewandt, den aktuellen Stand der Technik in der Bildsegmentierung. Das Modell und die Trainingspipeline wurden mit PyTorch implementiert.

Die Modellleistung wurde basierend auf dem Würfelkoeffizienten und der True Positive Rate (TPR) bewertet. Der erste gibt an, wie gut die vorhergesagten Crack-Pixel mit der Ground Truth übereinstimmen. TPR misst, wie viele Risspixel vom Modell genau erkannt wurden.

Das endgültige Modell erreichte einen Würfelkoeffizienten von 88% und einen TPR von 97% auf dem Validierungssatz. Diese Leistung ist für automatisierte Rissprüfanwendungen geeignet.

Vorhersagen wurden dann mittels morphologischer Öffnung entrauscht. Beim Zusammensetzen der Fliesen konnten wir das gesamte Bild hinsichtlich der Anzahl der Risse sowie der Risslänge und -breite analysieren.

Projektergebnis

Das Werkzeug ist in der Lage, Oberflächenrisse auf Pixelebene genau zu erkennen. Rissbreite und -länge können so automatisch überwacht werden. Für Anwendungen, bei denen Bilder durchgängig von den gleichen Stellen aufgenommen werden, ermöglicht dies die Analyse von Rissänderungen und die frühzeitige Erkennung neuer Risse.

Kategorie

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Predictive Maintenance
Deep Learning Object Detection
Spatial temporal Analysis
Computer Vision

Technologien

Deep Learning

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im Überblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO