Project Description

Predictive Maintenance – Forecasting the road condition of the highway A70 and Visualizing in ArcGIS

Project scope

For a road builder it is essential to plan measures for the maintenance of the infrastructure based on the respective roadway, building condition and their development. Predictive analysis can lead to monitoring of public infrastructure hence cost efficiency in maintenance. On the other hand, the overall development of public infrastructure can be better monitored.

Objective: Develop an artificial intelligence solution to forecast highway conditions using neural networks on 4 characteristics – general road roughness, lengthwise roughness index, grip of the road at 80 km/h driving speed and the damage level of the highway due to cracks.

Data Sets

The Bavarian State Ministry of Housing, Building and Transport has provided historical A70 highway (Schweinfurt, Bamberg, Bayreuth) condition assessment data from the years 2009, 2013 and 2017. In addition, the traffic density data of the A70 highway was also provided for the years 2005, 2010 and 2015.

Challenges & solutions

The data provided were collected at three different points in time, which resulted in a significant pro-portion of missing values in the aggregation.

First, the traffic density data was merged with the high way condition data, variables with >50% miss-ing values were excluded from the downstream modelling process. To meet the requirement of neural networks, that missing values should be imputed before the modelling. 4 predictive performance models were compared: Neural Network, LSTM (Long term short memory), CNN (Convolutional Neural Network) and the stacking model of LSTM + CNN. The R-square of the stacked LSTM+CNN model was the highest and shows the best model performance.

Project outcome

The combination of LSTM + CNN model was successfully used to predict the road condition variables, with 60% accuracy. his prediction was visualized in ArcGIS showing the degree of the road condition.

Predictive Maintenance
Predictive Maintenance Supper & Supper A70

Category

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Predictive Maintenance
Spatial temporal Analysis

Technologies

Deep Learning
LSTM-CNN

Download

Social Sharing

The inclusion of artificial intelligence in the analysis of geodata enables us to design management processes in a targeted and efficient manner. Close cooperation with efficient partners in the field of data analysis opens up completely new avenues. It creates new levels of knowledge that reduce potential project risks and further advances profitability in project management.

Roland Degelmann
Head of Digitization
Bavarian State Ministry of Housing, Building and Transport

Category

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Predictive Maintenance
Spatial temporal Analysis

Technologies

Deep Learning
LSTM-CNN

Download

Social Sharing

Other Use Cases in this category

All Use Cases at a Glance

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Project Description

Predictive Maintenance – Vorhersage des Fahrbahnzustandes der A70 und Visualisierung in ArcGIS

Projektziel

Für einen Straßenbaulastträger ist es unerlässlich, Maßnahmen zur Erhaltung der Infrastruktur anhand des jeweiligen Fahrbahn- und Bauwerkszustandes sowie deren Entwicklung zu planen. Genaue Vorhersageresultate können zu einem eine Hilfestellung bei der Kosteneffizienz der Erhaltung sein. Zum anderen kann der Gesamtentwicklung der öffentlichen Infrastruktur besser überwacht werden.

Ziel des Projektes war es, eine Lösung mit künstlicher Intelligenz zu entwickeln, welche den Zustand der Fahrbahnen mit Hilfe eines neuronalen Netzes auf 4 verschiedenen Variablen vorherzusagen: Allgemeine Unebenheiten, Längstebenheitswirkindex, Griffigkeit bei einer Messgeschwindigkeit 80 km/h und das Schadensniveau der Fahrbahn durch Rissbildung.

Datensätze

Das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Wohnen, Bauen und Verkehr hat historische Fahrbahnzu-standsdaten der A70 (Schweinfurt, Bamberg, Bayreuth) aus den Jahren 2009, 2013 und 2017 zur Verfügung gestellt. Darüber hinaus wurden die Verkehrsdichtedaten der A70 für die Jahre 2005, 2010 und 2015 zur Verfügung gestellt.

Herausforderungen und Lösungen

Die bereitgestellten Daten wurden zu drei verschiedenen Zeitpunkten erfasst, woraus sich in der Zusammenführung ein erheblicher Anteil an fehlenden Werten ergab.

Zunächst wurden die Verkehrsdichtedaten mit den Autobahnzustandsdaten zusammengeführt und Variablen mit >50% Fehlwerten wurden aus dem nachgelagerten Modellierungsprozess ausgeschlossen. Um die Anforderung neuronaler Netze zu erfüllen sollten fehlende Werte vor der Modellierung imputiert werden. Es wurden 4 Vorhersagemodelle verglichen: Neuronales Netz, LSTM (Long-Short-Term-Memory), CNN (Convolutional Neural Network) und das kombinierte Modell aus LSTM + CNN. Das R2 des kombinierte Modells aus LSTM + CNN hat insgesamt die besten Vorhersageergebnisse geliefert.

Projektergebnis

Das kombinierte Modell aus LSTM + CNN wurde erfolgreich eingesetzt, um die Fahrbahnzustandsvariablen mit einer Genauigkeit von 60% bei R-squared vorherzusagen. Diese Vorhersage wurde in ArcGIS visualisiert und zeigt den Grad des Straßenzustandes.

Predictive Maintenance
Predictive Maintenance Supper & Supper A70

Kategorie

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Predictive Maintenance
Spatial temporal Analysis

Technologien

Deep Learning
LSTM-CNN

Download

Social Sharing

Die Einbeziehung Künstlicher Intelligenz in die Analyse von Geodaten ermöglicht es uns, Managementprozesse zielgerichtet und effizient zu gestalten. Hier eröffnet die enge Zusammenarbeit mit leistungsfähigen Partnern aus dem Bereich der Datenanalyse völlig neue Wege. Sie schafft neue Erkenntnisebenen, die potentielle Projektrisiken mindern und die Wirtschaftlichkeit in der Projektaussteuerung weiter vorantreiben.

Roland Degelmann
Leiter Digitalisierung
Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wohnen, Bau und Verkehr

Kategorie

GEO AI
Infrastructure
Predictive Maintenance
Spatial temporal Analysis

Technologien

Deep Learning
LSTM-CNN

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im Überblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO