Project Description

Breast Tumor Quality Prediction With The Help Of Dataiku

Project scope

The project goal was to develop a machine learning model to predict breast tumor quality.

Data sets

Two different data sets from a Wisconsin hospital with 570 and 700 cases, respectively, were used to address the problem. The first data set was based exclusively on the cellular level. For each image ten cell features with the corresponding mean, standard error and “worst” (mean of the three largest values) were computed. The second data set provided discrete values from one to ten of cell attributes and mitosis stage.

Challenges and solutions

Both data sets contained heterogenous distribution of benign and malignant groups.

Applied Methods

Taking into consideration, that the output groups were known, we implemented supervised learning algorithms like random forest and logistic regression. Accuracy was chosen as a metric to obtain a comparison between algorithms performances. These steps were carried out with Dataiku, the platform democratizing access to data and enabling enterprises to build their own path to AI.

Project outcome

Random forest approach performed with an accuracy of 99,7 % and of 99,3% respectively.

Using random forest method we obtained the importance of used variables of both data sets. For the first data set the means of the three largest values were critical for making predictions. It was notable that mitosis stage of the second date set played no role for the prediction.

Logistic regression approach performed with an accuracy of 99.6% in both cases. The confusion matrices based on the optimized F1-score were stored. The false prediction of benign tumor instead of malignant was penalized higher.

The threshold of the confusion matrices corresponded to the number beyond which the prediction was considered positive , the values were set to 0.475 and 0.25.

Category

Technologies

Dataiku
random forest
logistic regression

Download

Social Sharing

Other Use Cases in this category

All Use Cases at a Glance

Contact

Stefanie Supper
CEO

Project Description

Beurteilung von Brustkrebstumoren mit Hilfe von Dataiku

Projektziel

Das Projektziel war die Entwicklung eines maschinellen Lernmodells zur Vorhersage der Qualität von Brusttumoren.

Zur Verfügung gestellte Daten

Es wurden zwei verschiedene Datensätze des Krankenhauses Wisconcin mit 570 und 700 Fällen verwendet. Der erste Datensatz basierte ausschließlich auf Daten der Zellenebene. Für jedes Bild wurden zehn Zellmerkmale mit dem entsprechenden Mittelwert, Standardfehler und “worst” (Mittelwert der drei größten Werte) berechnet. Der zweite Datensatz lieferte individuelle Werte von eins bis zehn von Zellattributen und Mitosestadien.

Herausforderungen und Lösungen

Beide Datensätze enthielten eine heterogene Verteilung von gutartigen und bösartigen Gruppen.

Angewandte Methoden

Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass die Ausgabegruppen bekannt waren, implementierten wir überwachte Lernalgorithmen wie das “random forest” und “logistic regression” Klassifikationsverfahren. Die Genauigkeit wurde als Metrik gewählt, um einen Vergleich zwischen den Leistungen der Algorithmen zu erhalten. Die Methode wurde mit Hilfe der Dataiku-Software durchgeführt.

Projektergebnis

Das “random forest” Verfahren erzielte eine Genauigkeit von 99,7 % und 99,3 %.

Mit Hilfe der “random forest”- Methode haben wir die Bedeutung der verwendeten Variablen beider Datensätze ermittelt. Für den ersten Datensatz waren die Mittelwerte der drei größten Werte entscheidend für die Vorhersage. Es war bemerkenswert, dass das Mitosestadium des zweiten Datensatzes keine Rolle für die Vorhersage spielte.

Die “logistic regression”- Methode wurde in beiden Fällen mit einer Genauigkeit von 99,6% durchgeführt. Die Konfusion Matrix, basierend auf dem optimierten F1-Score wurden gespeichert. Die falsche Prognose eines gutartigen Tumors anstelle von bösartig wurde höher eingestuft.

Der Grenzwert der Konfusion Matrix entsprach der Zahl, ab der die Vorhersage positiv war. Die Werte wurden auf 0,475 und 0,25 gesetzt.

Kategorie

Technologien

Dataiku
random forest
logistic regression

Download

Social Sharing

Weitere Use Cases dieser Kategorie

Alle Use Cases im Überblick

Kontakt

Stefanie Supper
CEO